napsgeareudomestic
bannednutritionRegenRx

What is your why?

44YOGearHead

I'm curious about this as so many people's reasons are different and yet so many are cookie cutter answers. What's your 'why' and let's keep it real.

Here's mine: From an early age I've had a fascination with bodybuilding. When I was a young teen I'd save my money and attend local shows, I'd ask for subscriptions to Flex and gym shirts from Gold's, or World gym for birthdays and Christmas. I started lifting at age 12. By sixteen I competed and it was in my blood. For a teen I was 210 pounds at 5' 9", squatting 675 for 10+ reps and benching 385. At age 45... you already know it's still a big part of my life. Now, how about you all???

The 44

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Playing basketball at juco school I didn't really run up against big guys. When I got invited to tryout for a semi pro basketball team (USBL) that's where I had a little wake up call lol. I literally remember guarding this 2 guard from the US Naval Academy and he was my height but had me by 25-30lbs. He was tough. After that is when I started lifting. I got bigger and stronger and was hoping to go to Ireland and play professionally but tore my ACL and said I'm going to retire. But been lifting ever since. I look back and think what if I would of started lifting earlier...hmmm.

My sister brought me to the gym when I was 12 and then I just kept going on and off until I played football in high school. That's when I started going steady ever week. I saw this big mother fucker on the cover off Sports Illustrated Tony Madovic. I knew from then on thats what I wanted look like. And Arnold in the move Predator!!

I really wasn't envolved in any sports in school parents couldn't really
Afford it. I was short n stocky am pretty stout growing up country boy muscle lol
I always was known To be the one to arm wrestle in School, so I tried get stronger for it.